Top 5 stages of permanent weight loss

Top 5 stages of permanent weight loss

Precontemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, and maintenance.

You will transition back and forth between 5 stages on your journey to permanent weight loss.

Stage 1:You don’t want to change.

Stage 1 is known as precontemplation. You have no desire to make changes to your nutrition and exercise habits.

  • You’ve been on every diet out there.
  • You’re tired of “failing”.
  • You’ve given up trying to lose weight.

Stage 2: You’re thinking about making changes.

Stage 2 is known as contemplation. You want to make changes to your nutrition and exercise habits, but something is holding you back.

For example:

  • You don’t want to fail.
  • You’re afraid of succeeding.
  • You don’t want to give up your current lifestyle.
  • You’re afraid of losing your identity.

Stage 3: You’re planning on making changes.

Stage 3 is known as preparation. You’re planning to make changes to your nutrition and/or exercise habits in the next 30 days.

Stage 4: You’re actively making changes.

Stage 4 is known as action. You’re actively changing your habits and losing weight.

Stage 5: You’re successfully maintaining changes.

Stage 5 is known as maintenance. You’ve been consistently making changes and maintaining those changes for at least 6 months.

Stephanie's Certifications and Experience
About the Author
Stephanie Averkamp

About the Author was created by Stephanie Averkamp, a recognized health and fitness professional and sole-author of the content on this website. Stephanie's approach to weight loss emphasizes making small, realistic, and permanent lifestyle changes. Read more...

Stephanie Averkamp

Our Approach: Short-term solutions (like dieting) are unrealistic and ineffective because at some point they end. As soon as a diet or program ends, so do the results. Permanent weight loss is a journey; it's not a race or competition and there is no finish line. Read more...